Bangalore University to be split into four units

A sub-committee headed by higher education minister R V Deshpande on Thursday decided to split Bangalore University into four units. Bangalore-University-to-be-split-into-four-units

As per the decision, taken at a meeting with the law and finance departments, the university could be split before the beginning of the next academic year. It will be divided into Bangalore North University, Bangalore South University, Bangalore Central University and the present university at Jnanabharathi.

According to the sub-committee, the university at Jnanabharathi will become a unitary university like Jawaharlal Nehru University. The other three varsities – North, South and Central – will be affiliating universities. Providing smooth academic services and monitoring the 600 affiliated colleges has become burdensome, said a source who attended the meeting. The three affiliating universities will have 200 colleges each.


Each affiliating university will be given 100 acres to establish a campus; the remaining land will used by the unitary university, sources said. BU’s Jnanabharathi campus is spread across over 1,000 acres.

Source: TOI

Date: Feb 14, 2015